The Egg Drop Experiment


Soup weather is just around the corner and I have been asking myself all evening as to why I never bought vegetable stock before. I say, what a handy thing to have in the kitchen. I foresee a lot of stock usage in my cooking over the coming months. Today, I tried my hand at making egg drop soup. I liked my soup and after having made it myself, I can say that most egg drop soups use stock that is not vegetarian. So, if you are the eggs “ok” but “everything” else a no-no kind of a vegetarian, do bear this in mind.

Here is the recipe:

2 cups vegetable stock

4 mushrooms (preferably Shiitake but I used white) sliced

4 snow peas

1/2 an inch of ginger, sliced

A tablespoon each of chopped green onion bulb and leaves

2 tsp Soy Sauce

Half a tsp of chili garlic sauce

Crushed pepper

Salt

One egg, beaten lightly

serves one 

Pour a little bit of oil (not the Vahchef kind) in a saucepan and heat it on a high flame. Add the ginger and green onion and saute for a few seconds. Then add the mushrooms and snow peas and sauté until they brown. Now add the vegetable stock and simmer. Add the soy sauce, chili garlic sauce, salt and pepper. Now add the lightly beaten egg and whisk with a fork as you pour so the egg forms ribbons. Cook for a minute more. Done.

Leave a Reply

